Lunar EclipseThe Lunar Eclipse on Saturday the 25th of May 2013 is at 4 degrees Sagittarius. As with other full moons, the earth comes between the Sun and the Moon, creating a polarity between subconscious feeling and conscious intent. This disconnect can cause disorientation, or feelings of vulnerability and heightened sensitivity. This is felt stronger with lunar eclipses because the earth blocks the Suns life force from illuminating the Moon. The result is a resetting of our emotional or intuitive focus, and aligns it with our conscious goals as described by the previous solar eclipse. So the lunar eclipse ends up giving us a fresh perspective so we can find balance and feel emotionally secure. It integrates the conscious and subconscious so we can progress through the five or so months of this eclipse cycle.

Strongly influencing this eclipse series is the exact square between Uranus and Pluto on May 20, falling between this lunar eclipse and the previous solar eclipse. The Uranus Pluto square relentlessly grinding away means we have adapt to some unsettling changes by making and evolutionary leap. The balance we have to find relates to the May 9 solar eclipse theme of improving physical health in response to increasing pollution and contamination of the food supply.

Lunar Eclipse May 2013 Astrology

This ongoing theme of toxicity I have been noticing, from the solar eclipse, Pluto retrograde, and potentially from comet ISON, is supported once again in the chart for the May 25 Lunar Eclipse. The major aspect from the eclipse is the Moon square Neptune. To start with, this adds to the emotional sensitivity that a lunar eclipse brings. It makes it more difficult to cope with feeling of disorientation and vulnerability. Harder to trust the intuitive inner voice, to accept the reality of the solar eclipse health theme.

The square means we have to work hard on this, to overcome pessimism and feeling like a helpless victim. We may be tested by the allure of drugs to sooth emotional suffering or nervous anxiety. It won’t be easy but that’s the deal. Moon square Neptune can increase sensitivity to drugs and alcohol, further clouding intuition. It can also increase susceptibility to infection and environmental pollutants. The Moon rules stomach, digestive system and lymphatic system

lunar-eclipse-may-2013The Moon is in the Head of the Scorpion on the fixed star Acrab, associated with “pestilence, and contagious diseases.”. Interestingly, when comet ISON was discovered, the Moon was on the Nadir with this star. Neptune rules the pineal gland, they third eye associated with pyschic healing. Keeping this healthy will help overcome the challenges posed by the square aspect: Toxins to avoid and foods to eat. Neptune on the mystic fixed star Fomalhaut encourages a spiritual transformation.

Ceres rules environmental changes, nutrition in general and cereal crops like wheat, rice and corn. This is of importance in this eclipse cycle as I mentioned in the May 9 Solar Eclipse post, it was with comet ISON, opposite Pluto and square Uranus. “these challenges we have to adapt to, involve the environment and food. We are bring poisoned by pollution, radiation, plastics and other new chemicals. We don’t know the long term effects of genetically modifies plants and animals.”

Ceres comes under a lot of pressure in this lunar eclipse chart too. The dotted red lines to Ceres from the Moon Neptune square form a very challenging aspect pattern called Thor’s Hammer, or the Fist of God. It can indicate danger to the apex planet which activates a powerful survival instinct. At the mundane level this supports the themes of increasing pressures on crops from contamination. At the personal level it means good nutrition is key to improving health to safe guard against contamination and infection, ready for that evolutionary leap.

May 2013 Lunar Eclipse Times

Los Angeles California USA, Vancouver Canada – 21:24 PDT, Fri 24th.
New York and Florida USA, Toronto Canada – 00:24 EDT, Sat 25th.
London UK – 05:24 BST, Sat 25th.
New Delhi India – 09:54 IST, Sat 25th.
Bangkok Thailand – 11:24 ICT, Sat 25th.
Sydney Australia – 14:24 EST, Sat 25th.

11 thoughts on “Lunar Eclipse May 2013

  1. interesting read about eclipse and toxicity.
    Jupiter conjunct my natal moon, I remember the last time this conjunction occured. thanks for posting this Jamie!

  2. This post explains a lot to me. I got food poisoning/stomach flu on the 28th of May that lasted a week, right after the eclipse. When I went back to work I found out that 3 other people had the same thing around the eclipse as well!!

Leave a Reply